Hoeven Helps Introduce Legislation to Ensure Congressional Review of Future Deal with Iran, Easing of Sanctions

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven recently helped introduce the Iran Sanctions Relief Review Act of 2021, legislation sponsored by Senator Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.) that would enable Congress to approve or block any effort by the administration to suspend or terminate U.S. sanctions against the Iranian regime. This bill would prevent the administration from rolling back sanctions in exchange for advancing negotiations or reentering the Iran Nuclear Deal without first securing congressional support. As a member of the Senate Defense Appropriations Committee, Hoeven strongly supported re-imposing all sanctions on Iran and withdrawing from the Iran Nuclear Deal during the Trump administration. This legislation’s full text can be found here and comes in addition to a bicameral resolution Hoeven helped introduce earlier this week to oppose any lifting of sanctions on Iran.

“Our nation and the world cannot afford a nuclear-armed Iran, and considering the scale of this threat, any deal that the Biden administration tries to reach with Iran must be subject to Congressional review,” said Hoeven. “This legislation would help ensure we maintain the necessary pressure on the Iranian regime and do not enter into another failed Iran Nuclear Deal, which would not have prevented Iran from building a nuclear weapon and allowed it to continue sponsoring terrorism throughout the region.” 

In addition to Hoeven and Hagerty, the legislation is cosponsored by Senators Kevin Cramer (R-ND), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.) Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), Shelly Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), John Kennedy (R-La.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.) Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), and Todd Young (R-Ind.).