Hoeven Helps Introduce Legislation to Oppose Lifting Sanctions on Iran

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven this week helped introduce bicameral legislation to oppose any actions by the Biden administration to lift sanctions on Iran. The resolution, sponsored by Senator Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), reinforces that it’s U.S. policy that Iran not gain a nuclear weapon, highlighting the weaknesses of the Obama-era Iran Nuclear Deal, which provided a pathway for Iran to develop a nuclear weapon and did not adequately address Iran’s missile program or its support for terrorism. As a member of the Senate Defense Appropriations Committee, Hoeven strongly supported re-imposing all sanctions on Iran and withdrawing from the Iran Nuclear Deal during the Trump administration. The full text of the resolution can be found here

“The Iran Nuclear Deal lacked the measures required to ensure Iran’s compliance and force it to abandon its nuclear ambitions. Rather, the deal only emboldened Iran’s efforts to terrorize and destabilize its neighbors,” said Hoeven. “The Biden administration’s indications that it will lift sanctions on Iran is deeply concerning for our national security, as well as that of our allies. We need to maintain maximum pressure to disable Iran’s nuclear program and counter its aggression in the region.” 

In addition to Hoeven and Cotton, the resolution is cosponsored by Senators Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), John Thune (R-S.D.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), as well as 20 members of the House of Representatives.