ND Delegation to President: Approve ND Disaster Declaration Request for Spring Flooding

BISMARCK, N.D. – Senators John Hoeven and Kevin Cramer and Congressman Kelly Armstrong called on the President to approve a major disaster declaration request submitted by Governor Doug Burgum for spring flooding that occurred April 10-May 6, 2023. The request would unlock federal resources to support recovery in 21 North Dakota counties, including Barnes, Burke, Dickey, Dunn, Golden Valley, Grand Forks, Hettinger, LaMoure, McHenry, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Steele, Towner, Walsh, and Wells Counties.

“The State continues to recover from a particularly severe winter and is therefore requesting a major disaster declaration for 21 counties as a result of flooding during the period of April 10, 2023 to May 6, 2023,” the delegation wrote. “We support the State’s request and urge you to approve it as soon as possible so the necessary Federal resources can be made available to North Dakotans.”

The delegation’s letter is available here.