Hoeven Urges AG Garland to Respect the Durham Investigation

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven joined Senator Rick Scott (R-Fla.) in urging Attorney General Merrick Garland to ensure that the Department of Justice (DOJ) will respect the prosecutorial independence of Special Counsel John Durham and his staff, while also making sure that he is provided all resources necessary to fully and thoroughly pursue the investigation for which he was appointed. The letter comes as Special Counsel John Durham continues to uncover alarming new information about the fraudulent origins of the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s (FBI) investigation of alleged Russian interference in the 2016 U.S. elections.

“As you are aware, Special Counsel Durham continues to uncover alarming information related to the origins of the FBI investigation into alleged Russian interference in the 2016 United States elections,” the senators wrote. “Those findings include the highly concerning, and potentially criminal, manipulation and exploitation of federal law enforcement resources to target American citizens, including a presidential candidate, based upon fabricated evidence that had been procured and disseminated by individuals closely connected with a rival political campaign… We further expect you will support his important work until all those responsible for the fraud committed upon the American people are brought to justice.” 

Along with Hoeven and Scott, the letter was signed by Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell and Senators John Cornyn, Cynthia Lummis, Deb Fischer, Cindy Hyde-Smith, Joni Ernst, Mike Crapo, Jim Inhofe, Richard Burr, Roger Wicker, James Lankford, John Kennedy, Roy Blunt, Kevin Cramer, Ron Johnson, Roger Marshall, Tom Cotton, Marco Rubio, Mike Lee, Pat Toomey, Tommy Tuberville, Chuck Grassley, John Thune, Mike Braun, John Barrasso, Dan Sullivan, Ted Cruz, Mike Rounds, Jim Risch, Steve Daines, Thom Tillis, Todd Young, Jerry Moran, Rob Portman, Marsha Blackburn, John Boozman, Lindsey Graham, Bill Hagerty, Ben Sasse, Tim Scott, Shelley Moore Capito, Josh Hawley, Richard Shelby and Rand Paul. 

Click here for the full text of the letter.