Hoeven Joins Risch, Colleagues in Introducing Russia Sanctions Legislation

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven joined Senator Jim Risch (R-Idaho), ranking member of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, in introducing the Never Yielding Europe’s Territory (NYET) Act in the Senate. This legislation provides critical support to Ukraine to defend itself and imposes immediate sanctions related to Russia’s current threats against Ukraine, including sanctions that would block the operation of the Nord Stream 2 pipeline while imposing real costs on the Kremlin in the event of further aggression against Ukraine. 

“This legislation is about deterring Russia from continuing to threaten Ukraine,” said Hoeven. “We’ll continue working to strengthen and support U.S. allies and make Russia pay a high price for any further invasion.” 

Along with Hoeven and Risch, the legislation was cosponsored by Senators Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), John Kennedy (R-La.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Roy Blunt (R-Mo.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), and Mike Rounds (R-S.D.).

Click here for the full text.