Hoeven Cosponsors CRA to Stop Unattainable, Costly EPA Standard for U.S. Energy Producers & Manufacturers

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven this week cosponsored a Congressional Review Act resolution, introduced by Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell to rescind the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s (EPA) new changes to the particulate matter (PM2.5) national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS) despite the EPA’s own data showing that concentrations have decreased by over 40 percent in the last 20 years. The rule would impose unworkable mandates and greater costs on manufacturers and energy producers, contributing to higher prices for American consumers. 

“The Biden administration has finalized another burdensome regulation that sets unattainable standards and would cause regulatory strain on critical U.S. industries, including energy development and manufacturing,” said Hoeven. “This means higher costs for Americans, less energy security and more off-shoring of good jobs. This CRA would stop the EPA’s unnecessary government overreach.”

Last year, Hoeven joined his colleagues in pressing the EPA to stop the changes to the PM2.5 national ambient air quality standards, with the senators:

  • Citing a review completed by the agency in 2020 that demonstrated the current standards are effective in reducing pollution and protecting public health.
  • Stressing the new standards are not technologically or economically feasible.
    • In particular, the senators highlighted that the vast majority of PM2.5 emissions result from wildfires, road dust, international transport and other sources that are exceedingly difficult to control.
    • As a result, the regulatory burden and costs will fall on critical U.S. industries, including energy development and manufacturing, and ultimately penalize American consumers.

Cosponsors of this CRA include U.S. Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), John Boozman (R-AR), Mike Braun (R-IN), Katie Britt (R-AL), Ted Budd (R-NC), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Susan Collins (R-ME), John Cornyn (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Steve Daines (R-MT), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Ron Johnson (R-WI), John Kennedy (R-LA), James Lankford (R-OK), Mike Lee (R-UT), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Rand Paul (R-KY), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Jim Risch (R-ID), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), Rick Scott (R-FL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), John Thune (R-SD), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Roger Wicker (R-MS), and Todd Young (R-IN).