Hoeven, Colleagues Push Back on Unworkable EPA Mandates on Manufacturers, Energy Producers

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven this week joined his colleagues, led by Environment and Public Works (EPW) Committee Ranking Member Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), in pushing back on proposed U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) regulations that would impose unworkable mandates and greater costs on manufacturers and energy producers, contributing to higher prices for American consumers. Specifically, the senators called on the EPA to rescind proposed changes to the particulate matter (PM2.5) national ambient air quality standards (NAAQS).

“The EPA’s proposal fails to consider several important factors that will make implementation of a lower annual standard extremely difficult, or in some cases impossible, to no measurable benefits to public health, the environment, or the economy. The EPA should not finalize a discretionary reconsideration of a PM2.5 NAAQS that is unattainable and will likely lack an accompanying, detailed implementation plan,” said the senators.

In addition to Hoeven and Capito, the letter is co-signed by Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), JD Vance (R-Ohio), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.) and Todd Young (R-Ind.). The full text of the letter can be read here.