Hoeven Congratulates North Dakota Principal on Receiving Inaugural Presidential Cybersecurity Education Award

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today congratulated Principal Kara Four Bear of New Town Middle School for being named as one of two national recipients of the inaugural Presidential Cybersecurity Education Award. Principal Four Bear played a major role adopting North Dakota cybersecurity education initiates at New Town Middle School where she continues to expand opportunities for teachers and students to explore cybersecurity, digital literacy and safety skills in the classroom and beyond. These efforts include participation in the Valley City State University Summer Academy and the University of North Dakota NASA Near Space project for students to learn about career opportunities in the field of cybersecurity.

“As North Dakota continues to grow as a hub of technology entrepreneurship, it’s vital our students are educated and prepared to fill the jobs of the future, and cybersecurity plays a major role in this,” said Hoeven. “Thank you to Kara Four Bear for her dedicated efforts to expand cybersecurity initiatives at New Town Middle School and for her continued leadership ensuring that teachers and students have access to expanded opportunities outside the classroom.” 

The award was established last year by President Trump’s Executive Order on America’s Cybersecurity Workforce, and is awarded by the U.S. Secretary of Education, to recognize educators’ efforts to expand skills, knowledge and early interest in cybersecurity. Hoeven has worked to expand the state’s technology sector, which serves as the third wave of the state’s economic growth. That includes efforts to advance STEM education and help ensure students are prepared for the jobs of the future.