Hoeven Announces Agenda for the 2016 State of Technology Conference in Fargo

FARGO, N.D. – Senator John Hoeven today announced the agenda for the 2016 State of Technology Conference. The conference will be held Tuesday, Aug. 16, 2016, at the Hilton Garden Inn in Fargo. Hoeven and the Fargo Moorhead Chamber of Commerce will again join together for their 6th annual event highlighting local technological innovations in North Dakota. The theme of this year’s conference is “Local innovators solving global challenges.”

“Diversifying our economy with a strong focus on high tech companies as an important sector has been a priority since day one,” Hoeven said. “Our annual State of Technology Conference puts front and center our inspiring business leaders and entrepreneurs, who are developing and leveraging technologies to create new markets and meet a wide range of needs. Coupled with our state’s pro-business environment, we continue to see growth in innovative companies that are tackling challenges around the world.”

This year’s keynote speaker is Brad Smith, President and Chief Legal Officer of Microsoft. The conference will be emceed by Camille Grade and Jake Joraanstad of Myriad Mobile, which was recently recognized as a top app developer in the Minneapolis region and is among the fastest growing companies in the country.

Following Hoeven’s opening remarks, the event will feature an announcement by the Dakota Carrier Network regarding an exciting milestone in the Dakota Fiber Initiative (DFI). DFI arose out of a challenge made by Doug Burgum during the 2013 State of Technology Conference. The conference will also include addresses on youth tech entrepreneurship, advancements in vaccines to combat illness around the globe and the latest developments in weather modification.

For more information on the 2016 State of Technology Conference, please visit the Fargo Moorhead West Fargo Chamber website or call (218) 233-1100.

The full schedule is as follows:

7:45 a.m. Registration and Networking

8:15 a.m. Welcome – Event Emcees
Camille Grade and Jake Joraanstad
Myriad Mobile

Welcome – Craig Whitney
The Chamber President & CEO

8:30 a.m. Opening Remarks – Senator Hoeven

8:45 a.m. Seth Arndorfer – CEO, Dakota Carrier Network
Dakota Carrier Network Announcement

9:05 a.m. Brad Smith – President and Chief Legal Officer, Microsoft
Keynote Speaker

10:15 a.m. Mukai Selewki – CEO, Webblen
Young Entrepreneurs Academy Student Demonstration



10:40 a.m. ITCND Award Ceremony

11:15 a.m. Michael Chambers – CEO, Aldevron

11:20 a.m. Neil Brackin – President, Weather Modification, Inc.