ND Delegation Urges President to Approve ND Disaster Declaration Request for January Storms

WASHINGTON – Senators John Hoeven and Kevin Cramer and Congressman Kelly Armstrong today urged President Biden to approve the major disaster declaration request submitted by Governor Doug Burgum for severe winter storms that occurred from January 16-20, 2023. The request was made on behalf of seven counties, including Burke, Divide, McLean, Nelson, Renville, Sheridan and Walsh, and would unlock federal resources to support recovery and help mitigate future damages. The full text of the delegation’s letter can be read here.

“North Dakota experienced power outages and significant impacts to electrical infrastructure due to freezing fog that was followed by an ice storm. The unique weather pattern created devastating impacts throughout the state by downing power lines and making roads unsafe,” wrote the delegation. “North Dakota continues to work to harden infrastructure, promote resiliency and mitigate potential damage in future disasters. While these efforts continue, unlocking Federal assistance via a presidential disaster declaration is critical for North Dakota’s recovery.”