ND Delegation Statement on Approval of ND Disaster Declaration Request for Severe November Storms

BISMARCK, N.D. – Senators John Hoeven and Kevin Cramer and Congressman Kelly Armstrong today issued the following statement after the president approved Governor Doug Burgum’s request for a major disaster declaration covering the severe winter storms that took place during the period of November 9-11, 2022. The request was made on behalf of seven counties: Dickey, Kidder, Mercer, Nelson, Ransom, Sargent and Wells. The declaration unlocks federal resources to help these communities recover while supporting efforts to mitigate damage from future disasters. The delegation previously wrote in support of the governor’s request. The full text of the letter can be read here

“November’s severe storms created truly hazardous conditions, with record-breaking snowfall and high-speed winds that not only made travel and access for emergency services challenging, but cut power and heat to thousands of North Dakotans,”said the delegation. “We appreciate the efforts of Governor Burgum, state and local officials and local utility providers to assist communities in both recovering from these damaging storms and protecting against future disasters."