ND Delegation: President Issues Major Disaster Declaration for Spring Flooding in North Dakota

BISMARCK, N.D. – Senators John Hoeven and Kevin Cramer and Congressman Kelly Armstrong today issued the following statement after the president approved a major disaster declaration for spring flooding that occurred April 10 to May 6, 2023. The request unlocks federal resources to support recovery in 21 North Dakota counties, including Barnes, Burke, Dickey, Dunn, Golden Valley, Grand Forks, Hettinger, LaMoure, McHenry, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Steele, Towner, Walsh, and Wells counties. Last month, the delegation called on President Biden to approve Governor Doug Burgum’s request for a federal disaster declaration, citing the impact of overland flooding due to heavy snowpack, among other factors.

“North Dakota faced a historic winter this past year, with some areas experiencing more than double the typical amount of snowfall,” said the delegation. “This disaster declaration is an important step in supporting the state’s recovery as our communities work to repair the damage to roadways and other infrastructure, while also helping to mitigate the impacts of future disasters.”