Hoeven: USDA Issues Disaster Designation for North Dakota Counties, Continues Producer Eligibility for FSA Emergency Loans

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued a primary disaster designation for 21 counties in North Dakota, with 11 counties listed as contiguous disaster areas. The USDA’s announcement ensures producers in the designated areas continue to be eligible to apply for assistance, including emergency loans, from the Farm Service Agency (FSA). The affected counties are as follows:

  • Primary Disaster Counties: Billings, Bowman, Burleigh, Dunn, Emmons, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger, McIntosh, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Oliver, Sheridan, Sioux, Slope, Stark, Ward and Williams
  • Contiguous Disaster Counties: Adams, Burke, Dickey, Divide, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, Pierce, Renville and Wells

“Our farmers and ranchers continue to work through the losses caused by last year’s drought,” Hoeven said. “These designations help ensure that assistance continues to be available as farmers move forward in their operations for this crop year. As we advance the farm bill in the Senate, as well as our annual funding bill for the USDA, we are working to provide our producers with the support and relief they need to weather these challenges and continue to provide our nation with the best food supply in the world.”

As chairman of the Senate Agriculture Appropriations Committee and member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, Hoeven is advancing vital programs for agriculture producers and rural communities impacted by drought and other natural disasters. To this end, Hoeven continues to meet with stakeholders from across North Dakota to gather input as work on the farm bill continues. The senator is working to strengthen disaster assistance for farmers and ranchers to ensure the programs work when needed most.

Hoeven also secured the following provisions to make additional funding available for producers in Fiscal Year (FY) 2018 under the Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honey Bees and Farm-raised Fish Program (ELAP) and Livestock Indemnity Program (LIP):

  • Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honey Bees and Farm-raised Fish program (ELAP) – Chairman Hoeven made additional ELAP funding available to assist producers for activities, including transporting hay and livestock, during the drought.
  • Livestock Indemnity Program (LIP) – The legislation enables producers, who were forced to sell their livestock due to drought or other weather-related conditions, to receive LIP payment for their losses and removes payment limitations currently capped at $125,000. The provision is retroactive to January 1, 2017.