Hoeven: Two North Dakota Teachers to Receive Presidential Award for Excellence

Lori Kalash of West Fargo and Jennifer Lindsay of Fargo Honored for Contributions to STEM Education

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today announced that two North Dakota teachers will receive the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching. The program, which is administered by the National Science Foundation (NSF) on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy, recognizes outstanding K-12 teachers for their contributions to science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) education. The awardees will each receive a citation signed by the president, a $10,000 award from NSF and an opportunity to travel to Washington D.C. for an award ceremony. The awardees are as follows:

  • Dr. Lori Kalash – Independence Elementary School, West Fargo
  • Mrs. Jennifer Lindsay – Kennedy Elementary School, Fargo

“Our teachers shape the future of our state and nation every day,” Hoeven said. “Their efforts help our children realize their potential and pursue their passions. This award recognizes Lori Kalash and Jennifer Lindsay as educators who go above and beyond to help prepare students to succeed in the evermore important STEM fields. We thank them for their tremendous work.”

Hoeven continues his efforts as a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee and the Senate GOP High-Tech Task Force to support programs that advance STEM education and help ensure students are prepared for the jobs of the future. Further, the senator is working to position North Dakota as a hub of technology entrepreneurship, which will serve as the third wave in the state’s economic growth. His efforts, including his annual State of Technology conference, have helped realize new opportunities for the state’s core industries, including agriculture and energy, while also bringing high-tech startups and multinational corporations to communities across the state.