Hoeven: Turtle Mountain Reservation Designated as Federal Tribal Promise Zone

Senator Advocated for Turtle Mountain’s Designation as Federal Tribal Promise Zone, Worked to Improve Quality of Life for Native Americans

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, who serves on the Indian Affairs Committee, today announced that the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians, in collaboration with the Spirit Lake Tribe and surrounding communities, has been designated as the Pride of the Great Plains Promise Zone (PGPPZ). Promise Zones work to improve quality of life and break the cycle of persistent poverty by fostering collaboration between the federal government, local governments, the private sector and community organizations.

“Tribal Promise Zones carry the potential to help meet the needs of families facing severe poverty in tribal communities,” Hoeven said. “Turtle Mountain’s designation as a Promise Zone is a big step toward promoting greater opportunity and prosperity throughout the region through education and workforce development, improved access to housing and health services and increased economic activity.’”

Hoeven has worked with North Dakota’s tribes to improve the overall health, safety and economies of tribal reservations. In February, the Senator wrote a letter to U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Tom Vilsack and the Promise Zone Team urging them to support Turtle Mountain’s application.

Last week, Hoeven announced that President Obama signed into law S. 184, the Native American Children’s Safety Act, which Hoeven authored and introduced in the Senate. Congressman Cramer then led the effort to get the measure passed in the House. The legislation implements protections for Native American children placed by tribal courts into the tribal foster care system.

The PGPPZ will include two reservations, tribal trust/owned lands and Rolette County. The Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians will lead the Promise Zone in collaboration with more than 35 public and private partners.