Hoeven Statement on 130th Anniversary of North Dakota Statehood

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today released the following statement on the 130th anniversary of North Dakota’s statehood. President Benjamin Harrison approved statehood for North Dakota in 1889, making it the country’s 39th state. 

“Today we honor the 130th anniversary of North Dakota’s founding,” said Hoeven. “As our state continues to grow, we remember all those who worked hard to make our great state into what it is today. The deeply rooted values of hard work and perseverance are still present in our communities, providing a strong foundation as we look to the future. North Dakota is a beautiful place to call home, and we look forward to what the next 130 years will bring.”