Hoeven, Scott Introduce Resolution Defending Israel

WASHINGTON — Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Defense Appropriations Committee, joinedSenator Tim Scott (R-S.C.) in introducing a resolution that reiterates Israel’s right to self-defense and condemns recent statements from U.S. lawmakers that hinder Israel’s electoral process.

“We must stand with Israel as they defend themselves against the horrific terrorist attacks of Hamas,” said Hoeven. “Defeating Hamas is important for our security as well as Israel.  We must remain united in our efforts to defeat this terrorist threat.”

“Hamas is the reason the conflict started on October 7th and the reason it continues today,” said Scott. “Israel has every right to defend itself from this brutal terrorist organization that raped and murdered innocent civilians and continues to hold more than 100 people hostage – including several American citizens. I will always stand with Israel as it seeks to confront and eradicate the threat of terrorism.

Additional cosponsors include Senators Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), and Deb Fischer (R-Neb.). 

Full text of the resolution can be found here.