Hoeven Resolution Honors 75th Anniversary of U.S. Air Force

Senator Addresses Air Force Leadership at Anniversary Celebration

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, along with his fellow U.S. Senate Air Force Caucus Co-chairs Senators John Boozman (R-Ark.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.) and Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), this week introduced a Senate resolution commemorating the 75th anniversary of the Air Force as an independent military branch. In addition to the resolution, Hoeven delivered remarks at the Air Force celebration held in the U.S. Capitol earlier this week with Air Force Secretary Frank Kendall, Air Force Chief of Staff Charles Q. Brown and Chief of Space Operations John W. “Jay” Raymond. 

“For 75 years, the U.S. Air Force has gone above and beyond in defense of our nation,” said Hoeven. “North Dakota is proud to be home to the Minot Air Force Base and the Grand Forks Air Force Base along with Cavalier Space Force Station and our Air National Guard wing in Fargo. The incredible airmen at these bases play a vital role in our nation’s defense. As a member of the Senate Defense Appropriations Committee, we remain committed to ensuring the Air Force is well positioned to be a strong force for many years to come.” 

The Air Force was established on September 18, 1947 as part of the National Security Act of 1947.