Hoeven: Presidential Disaster Declaration Approved


WASHINGTON– Senator John Hoeven today said President Barack Obama has approved North Dakota’s request for a major disaster declaration effective beginning February 14.  

The declaration triggers the release of federal funds and programs to assist with both mitigation and recovery activities associated with this season’s severe flooding in North Dakota. The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) made notification to the Governor’s Office and the Congressional delegation this evening. The declaration specifically provides assistance for emergency work and the repair and replacement of disaster-damaged facilities, as well as assistance for actions taken to prevent or reduce long term risk to life and property from natural hazards. The agency said additional assistance may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments. 

“This is welcome news to communities throughout North Dakota,” Hoeven said. “Everyone on every level has worked hard to ensure that the full federal declaration would cover the federal cost share for months of flood protection and recovery efforts undertaken by cities, counties and the state in battling flood waters throughout North Dakota. It was very important that it cover the incident period from mid-February because that’s when communities began incurring the costs of preparing for this year’s significant flooding.”

Hoeven worked throughout the winter and spring months with the White House, FEMA and the Army Corps of Engineering, as well as local and state officials, to secure Federal Cost Sharing Assistance for flood protection measures and damages in addition to direct federal assistance. He met and spoke on numerous occasions with FEMA Administrator Craig Fugate; Region 8 FEMA Director Robin Finegan; and FEMA’s Federal Coordinating Officer for North Dakota Willie Nunn to advance the process. He visited Fargo, Jamestown, Devils Lake, Valley City, Lisbon, Minot and other North Dakota communities battling high waters to coordinate efforts with state and local officials.  

            Counties and tribes covered by the declaration include Barnes, Benson, Bottineau, Burke, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Eddy, Foster, Grand Forks, Grant, Griggs, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McHenry, McIntosh, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Mountrail, Nelson, Pembina, Pierce, Ramsey, Ransom, Renville, Richland, Rolette, Sargent, Sheridan, Steele, Stutsman, Towner, Traill, Walsh, Ward, Wells, and Williams Counties and the Spirit Lake Nation, the Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Indian Reservation, and the Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Reservation.