Hoeven Marks Investiture of Judge Ralph Erickson to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

FARGO, N.D. – Senator John Hoeven today offered remarks as Judge Ralph Erickson was invested into the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit. Hoeven introduced Judge Erickson at his confirmation hearing before the Senate Judiciary Committee last year and, following this, worked consistently to advance his nomination through the committee and the full Senate.

“We welcome Judge Erickson to his role on the Eighth Circuit,” said Hoeven. “Throughout his years on the bench, he has worked hard to uphold our laws and ensure our government abides by the Constitution. We thank him for his willingness to continue serving our nation, and we wish him the best in this new endeavor.”

Judge Erickson is a graduate of Jamestown College and the University of North Dakota Law School. In 2003, he was nominated by President George W. Bush and confirmed by the U.S. Senate to serve as a United States District Judge for North Dakota. Erickson served as Chief Judge from 2010-2016. Prior to that, he served as a state district judge for the East Central Judicial District, as a Magistrate judge for Cass County Court and as a county judge.