Hoeven Leads Bipartisan Group of 25 Senators in Pressing FERC to Act on Pending Natural Gas Pipeline Projects

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, today led a bipartisan group of 25 senators in pressing the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) to act on vital energy infrastructure projects by reviewing, without further delay, the 14 natural gas pipeline infrastructure projects that are currently pending before FERC. In the letter to the FERC chairman and commissioners, the senators also outlined the importance of reviewing the projects using current FERC guidance under the Policy Statement in place and acting to advance projects that create jobs and bring other economic and environmental benefits to communities.

The 14 pipelines pending before FERC include projects in North Dakota, Arizona, California, Connecticut, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Texas, West Virginia, and Wisconsin.

“Many of the proposed projects before the Commission, some pending for more than a year, are critical to addressing supply issues and strengthening our energy infrastructure,” wrote the senators. “These projects represent substantial private sector investment in our nation’s economy and our workforce, and developers seeking approval are entitled to the Commission’s consideration through a clear, consistent, and timely process.  Delaying and moving the regulatory goalposts on projects filed in good faith is contrary to the otherwise equitable application of the Policy Statement that all stakeholders expect.  At a minimum, these projects should not be subject to newly contemplated considerations that fall outside the scope of the current Policy Statement or go beyond the Commission’s statutory authority.”

In addition to Hoeven, the letter was signed by Senators Joe Manchin (D-W.Va.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), James Inhofe (R-Okla.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), John Thune (R- S.D.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.) and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).

Click here for the full text of the letter.