Hoeven Joins Effort Calling on FCC to Rollout Next Gen Television Standard, Support Local Broadcasters

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven recently joined Senators Brian Schatz (D-Hawaii) and Todd Young (R-Ind.) in calling on Federal Communications Commission (FCC) Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel to expedite the continued rollout of the Next Generation Television standard, advanced technology that will help broadcasters continue to provide quality local news and support an improved emergency alert system.

“The Next Gen TV standard is essential to the continued vitality and competitiveness of local television broadcasters’ free, local, and trusted service in our communities. This pro-consumer, innovative technology will allow local stations to better serve their viewers with improved pictures and sound, interactive features, including expanded local news, advanced emergency alerting, and the ability to deliver to viewers the content that is most relevant to them, when they want it, where they want it,” the senators wrote. 

In addition to Hoeven, Schatz and Young, the letter was signed by Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Peter Welch (D-Vt.), Angus King (I-Maine), Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Raphael Warnock (D-Ga.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.V.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-R.I.), Jon Ossoff (D-Ga.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.) and Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.).

Click here for the full text of the letter.