Hoeven Joins Cruz in Introducing Stop Dangerous Sanctuary Cities Act

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven this week joined Senator Ted Cruz in reintroducing the Stop Dangerous Sanctuary Cities Act, legislation to stop sanctuary city policies and withhold federal, taxpayer-funded grants from jurisdictions that prevent law enforcement officers from cooperating with federal immigration officials.

“The crisis at our southern border is out of control. To get a handle on it, the Biden administration need to enforce our laws,” said Hoeven. “Sanctuary cities disregard federal immigration laws and need to be held accountable for their actions. This legislation will help to stop sanctuary cities and ensure that we are upholding the law of the land and maintaining the rule of law.” 

“So-called ‘sanctuary cities’ refuse to enforce the laws on the books and release violent criminals in our country illegally—including rapists and murders—who go on to prey on both American citizens and the immigrant community. Moreover, many of these sanctuary jurisdictions actively prevent state and local law enforcement from coordinating with their federal counterparts.  They release murderers, rapists, and burglars who end up preying on the community. That is wrong. The American people, and Texas communities in particular, are tired of seeing our laws flouted and the crime that often accompanies illegal immigration. These jurisdictions need to be held accountable, and I will do everything I can to enforce our immigration laws,” said Cruz.

In addition to Senators Cruz and Hoeven, the bill is cosponsored by Senators Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Shelly Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), and Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.).