Hoeven Joins Colleagues Warning China Against Violent Crackdown on Protesters

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven this week joined Senator Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska) in urging the Chinese ambassador to the United States to warn the Chinese Communist Party (CCP) of the consequences of a violent crackdown on peaceful protesters. This letter comes as demonstrations have erupted across China in response to the CCP’s severe quarantine and mass testing mandates.

“We caution the CCP in the strongest possible terms not to once again undertake a violent crackdown on peaceful Chinese protesters who simply want more freedom,” the senators wrote.   

In addition to Hoeven and Sullivan, the letter is signed by Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) and Senators Jeff Merkley (D-Ore.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Angus King (I-Maine), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Susan Collins (R-Maine), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), John Kennedy (R-La.), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Ben Sasse (R-Neb.), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), and Mike Crapo (R-Idaho). Click here for the full text of the letter.