Hoeven Joins Colleagues Pushing Back on Mexico's Proposed Ban on Genetically Engineered Corn

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven this week joined Senator Deb Fischer (R-Neb.) in expressing concern over Mexico’s efforts to ban U.S. genetically engineered corn in a letter to the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) and the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA). These efforts come as Mexican President Lopez Obrador issued a presidential decree in 2020 that Mexico would phase out the use of genetically modified corn by 2024. Such an action is unsupported by science and would run afoul of the U.S.-Mexico-Canada trade agreement (USMCA).

“These actions… would be detrimental to food security in Mexico, hurt U.S. agricultural sustainability, and stifle future agricultural technology innovations that would benefit both nations,” the senators wrote. “While we appreciate the efforts of USTR and USDA to resolve this issue by engaging with Mexican officials, we also encourage the administration to consider all options available in an effort to hold Mexico to their trade commitments including pursuing a dispute settlement process through USMCA.” 

In addition to Hoeven and Fischer, the letter is signed by Senators Tammy Duckworth (D-Ill.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Gary Peters (D-Mich.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Michael Rounds (R-S.D.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), John Thune (R-S.D.), and Rob Portman (R-Ohio). Click here for the full text of the letter.