Hoeven Joins Colleagues Calling for Biden Administration to Fully Implement the Jerusalem Embassy Act of 1995

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven this week joined his colleagues, led by Senator Bill Hagerty (R-TN) in calling on the Biden administration to reverse course on its reported plans to erode the full and faithful implementation of the Jerusalem Embassy Act of 1995. The administration reportedly plans on moving the Palestinian Affairs Unit (PAU) out of the U.S. Ambassador to Israel’s reporting chain of command and renaming the PAU the “U.S. Office of Palestinian Affairs.” This action would serve as an unofficial U.S. consulate to the Palestinians in Jerusalem. In the joint statement, the members outline their support for maintaining a single diplomatic mission under the authority of the U.S. Ambassador to Israel, consistent with U.S. recognition of Jerusalem as the eternal and undivided capital of Israel.

“The Biden Administration’s decision is wrong and not how America should treat Israel, one of our closest allies in the world. As sponsors of the Upholding the 1995 Jerusalem Embassy Law Act of 2021 to withhold funding for a U.S. consulate to the Palestinians in Israel’s capital, we unequivocally oppose the Biden Administration’s decision and will use every tool at our disposal to stop it in the 117th Congress and afterwards,” read the joint statement. 

In addition to Hoeven and Hagerty, this joint statement is also signed by Senators Thom Tillis (NC), Marco Rubio (FL), Bill Cassidy (LA), Ted Cruz (TX), Mike Lee (UT), Chuck Grassley (IA), Tim Scott (SC), Cindy Hyde-Smith (MS), Roger Marshall, M.D. (KS), John Cornyn (TX), Roger F. Wicker (MS), Steve Daines (MT), Josh Hawley (MO), John Barrasso (WY), Tom Cotton (AR), Rick Scott (FL), Mike Braun (IN), Kevin Cramer (ND), Deb Fischer (NE), Todd Young (IN), James Lankford (OK), Joni K. Ernst (IA), John Kennedy (LA), Ron Johnson (WI), Lindsey O. Graham (SC), Ben Sasse (NE), James M. Inhofe (OK), Tommy Tuberville (AL), Cynthia M. Lummis (R-WY), James Risch (R-ID), Mike Crapo (R-ID), and Marsha Blackburn (R-TN).