Hoeven Holds Roundtable with North Dakota Producers to Outline $16 Billion in Agriculture Assistance

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, chairman of the Senate Agriculture Appropriations Committee and a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, today held a roundtable with North Dakota agriculture producers and lenders to outline the $16 billion in agriculture assistance he helped secure to aid producers impacted by trade negotiations. Hoeven worked with USDA and the Administration to secure another round of Market Facilitation Program (MFP) payments and also to ensure coverage for canola and other commodities impacted by tariffs. Funding for the plan is provided through the Commodity Credit Corporation (CCC), which is funded each year by the Agriculture Appropriations Committee chaired by Senator Hoeven.

The plan includes:

  • $14.5 Billion in Market Facilitation Program Payments
  • $1.4 Billion in Farm Purchases
  • $100 Million in Trade Assistance

“While our ultimate goal is to secure better trade deals, this agriculture assistance is vital help for our producers,” said Hoeven. “With China backtracking and delaying negotiations as well as targeting our agriculture industry, we worked with the Administration to secure another round of MFP payments for producers and additional trade assistance.”

Hoeven outlined the plan and gathered input from producers at the roundtable. The following organizations were invited to attend the roundtable: North Dakota Farm Service Agency; North Dakota Department of Agriculture; North Dakota Soybean Growers; North Dakota Grain Growers; North Dakota Corn Growers; Red River Valley Sugarbeet Growers Association; American Crystal Sugar; Northern Canola Growers; North Dakota Farmers Union; North Dakota Farm Bureau; National Sunflower Association; Northern Pulse Growers; Northern Plains Potato Growers Association; North Dakota Stockmen’s Association; Independent Beef Association of North Dakota; North Dakota Bankers Association; Community and Independent Banks of North Dakota and North Dakota Farm Credit Council.