Hoeven Helps Introduce Strategic Petroleum Reserve Legislation

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee, today joined Senator John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), ranking member of the committee, in introducing the Strategic Production Response (SPR) Act. This legislation prioritizes American energy production by prohibiting the Secretary of Energy from tapping the Strategic Petroleum Reserve for reasons other than a severe energy supply interruption until the Secretary of the Interior issues a plan to increase oil and gas production on federal lands and waters.

“This administration put in place energy policies that have drastically restricted American energy production and caused prices to increase for consumers. Rather than tapping into our nation’s Strategic Petroleum Reserve, which is intended for emergency purposes, the administration should boost production of American energy to help lower prices and ensure our energy independence,” said Hoeven. “North Dakota is an energy powerhouse with strong environmental stewardship, and this legislation is about empowering American energy production over depending on our adversaries and less stable parts of the world.”   

“President Biden’s decision to release oil from the Strategic Petroleum Reserve is not a solution for the skyrocketing energy prices that American families are facing.” said Barrasso. “Before tapping the Reserve for political reasons, our bill requires the administration to issue a plan to boost federal oil and natural gas production. The Strategic Production Response Act provides a real solution to the Biden administration’s reckless policies. America is stronger and safer when we are energy independent.”

In addition to Hoeven and Barrasso, the legislation is cosponsored by Senators Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Roger Marshall (R-Kans.) and Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.). 

The text of the legislation can be found here.