Hoeven Helps Introduce Resolution to Repeal Biden Administration's Policy to Upend Asylum Process

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven recently joined Senator Ron Johnson (R-Wis.) in introducing a Congressional Review Act (CRA) Joint Resolution of Disapproval to dissolve a proposed Biden administration rule that would upend the process by which the U.S. government grants asylum claims. Under current law, asylum claims must be adjudicated by an immigration court judge, and asylum seekers must be detained throughout the adjudication process. The rule being proposed by the Biden administration would permit migrants crossing the border illegally who claim asylum to have their asylum application approved by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) officials, not immigration judges, and to not be detained while their application is pending.    

“The Biden administration is encouraging individuals to not only cross our border illegally but also removing the ability to detain them,” said Hoeven. “The number of illegal migrants crossing the southern border is already at a record high, and this rule would only make the situation at our southern border worse.”

In addition to Hoeven and Johnson, the CRA was introduced by Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), and Roger Wicker (R-Miss.).

Click here to read the resolution.