Hoeven Helps Introduce Legislation to Prevent Settlement Payments to Illegal Immigrants

WASHINGTON — Senator John Hoeven today joined Senators Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), and Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-Ky.) in introducing the Protect American Taxpayer Dollars from Illegal Immigration Act. President Biden’s Department of Justice (DOJ) is considering giving out payments of $450,000 per person to illegal immigrants who broke U.S. immigration laws. This legislation prevents illegal immigrants from receiving payments for legal settlements, including money from the Judgement Fund to prevent compensating illegal immigrants at the expense of American taxpayers. 

“As the crisis at our nation’s southern border continues, American’s taxpayer dollars should not be used to financially reward individuals for coming to our country illegally,” said Hoeven. “This legislation is about preventing an incentive for illegal immigration.”

In addition to Hoeven, Tillis, Cotton, Cornyn and McConnell, the legislation is cosponsored by Senators James Risch (R-Idaho), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), Jerry Moran (R-Kans.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.) and John Thune (R-S.D.). 

Read the full bill text here.