Hoeven Helps Introduce Legislation to Honor Law Enforcement

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Law Enforcement Caucus, this week helped introduce the National Law Enforcement Museum Commemorative Coin Act. The bipartisan bill, which is sponsored by Senators Roy Blunt (Mo.) and Chris Coons (Del.), authorizes the Treasury Department to mint coins to commemorate the opening of the National Law Enforcement Museum in Washington, D.C. The museum, which opens later this year, is dedicated to highlighting and honoring law enforcement officers.

“North Dakota’s law enforcement officers do a tremendous job ensuring that our communities are safe and protected,” said Hoeven. “Our bill recognizes and commemorates their efforts and the efforts of law enforcement officers across the nation, while highlighting the National Law Enforcement Museum which will be constructed later this year. In this way, we can honor the men and women who work every day, to uphold the rule of law.”

Many of the nation’s top law enforcement advocacy groups support the bill, including the Federal Law Enforcement Officers Association, the Fraternal Order of Police, the International Brotherhood of Police Officers, the National Association of Police Organizations, the National Black Police Association, the National Sheriffs' Association and the Police Foundation. 

The Treasury Department will be reimbursed for the costs of issuing the coins and taxpayers will not be responsible for paying for the coins. Proceeds from the coin will support educational and outreach programs for the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund.

Additional cosponsors of the legislation include Senators Lamar Alexander (Tenn.), John Boozman (Ark.), John Cornyn (Texas), Catherine Cortez Masto (Nev.), Tom Cotton (Ark.), Cory Gardner (Colo.), Maggie Hassan (N.H.), Heidi Heitkamp (N.D.), Johnny Isakson (Ga.), Amy Klobuchar (Minn.), Joe Manchin (W. Va.), Claire McCaskill (Mo.), Jerry Moran (Kan.), Lisa Murkowski (Alaska), Pat Roberts (Kan.), Mike Rounds (S.D.), Marco Rubio (Fla.), Tina Smith (Minn.), and Jon Tester (Mont.).