Hoeven Helps Introduce Legislation Awarding Congressional Gold Medals to 13 American Heroes Killed in Afghanistan

BISMARCK, N.D. – Senator John Hoeven today joined Senators Steve Daines (R-Mont.) and Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.) in introducing bipartisan legislation in the Senate to award Congressional Gold Medals to the 13 American servicemembers who lost their lives during the terrorist attacks in Kabul, Afghanistan on August 26, 2021. 

“Last month, these 13 servicemembers gave this nation their last full measure of devotion,” said Hoeven. “This is about recognizing the actions of these American heroes and how grateful our nation is for the brave men and women in uniform who fight to secure our freedoms and liberties.”

In addition to Hoeven, Daines and Warren, this bill was cosponsored by Senators Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Richard Blumenthal (D-Conn.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Ed Markey (D-Mass.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Tim Kaine (D-Va.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Ben Cardin (D-Md.), Michael Bennet (D-Colo.), Jim Risch (R-Idaho), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Jacky Rosen (D-Nev.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio), Alex Padilla (D-Calif.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.) and Mark Warner (D-Va.).