Hoeven Helps Introduce Concealed-Carry Reciprocity Bill

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven this week joined Senators John Cornyn (R-TX) and Bill Hagerty (R-TN) in introducing legislation to protect state sovereignty and allow an individual’s concealed carry permit to be lawfully exercised in all other states that have concealed carry permitting laws. The Constitutional Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act treats state-issued concealed carry permits like drivers’ licenses where an individual can use their home-state license to drive in another state, though must abide by that other state’s speed limit or road laws. 

“The Constitutional Concealed Carry Reciprocity Act will help preserve the right to self-defense for law-abiding citizens without infringing on states’ rights by creating parity for concealed carry permits,” said Hoeven.  

In addition to Hoeven, Cornyn and Hagerty, the bill is cosponsored by Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and Senators John Barrasso (R-WY), John Thune (R-SD), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), John Kennedy (R-LA), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Rick Scott (R-FL), John Boozman (R-AR), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Tim Scott (R-SC), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Ted Budd (R-NC), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Todd Young (R-IN), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Eric Schmitt (R-MO), Mike Braun (R-IN), J.D. Vance (R-OH), Roger Wicker (R-MS), James Risch (R-ID), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Katie Britt (R-AL), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Steve Daines (R-MT), James Lankford (R-OK), Mike Lee (R-UT), Mike Rounds (R-SD), and Dan Sullivan (R-AK).