Hoeven Helps Introduce Bill to Establish Permanent Prohibition on Federal Funding for Abortion

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senator John Hoeven (R-N.D.) helped introduce the No Taxpayer Funding for Abortion Act, legislation sponsored by Senator Roger Wicker (R-Miss.). This bill would establish a permanent prohibition on federal funding for abortion, with a single, government-wide standard. Hoeven has been a cosponsor of this legislation every year he has been in the Senate.

“By establishing a consistent standard across the federal government, our legislation will help ensure taxpayers in North Dakota and throughout the country have the certainty that their tax dollars are not going to support abortion,” said Hoeven.

Specifically, this legislation would make permanent the restrictions on funding for elective abortion and elective abortion coverage, including the Hyde Amendment, which currently rely on yearly approval. It would also eliminate Obamacare’s taxpayer subsidies for elective abortion coverage on the Affordable Care Act exchanges through refundable tax credits.

In addition to Hoeven and Wicker, the bill is cosponsored by Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell, (R-Ky.) and Senators John Thune (R-S.D.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Katie Britt (R-Ala.), Ted Budd (R-N.C.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Joni Ernst (R-Iowa), Deb Fischer (R-Neb.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), John Kennedy (R-La.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Jerry Moran (R-Kan.), Markwayne Mullin (R-Okla.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Pete Ricketts (R-Neb.), James Risch (R-Idaho), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Eric Schmitt (R-Mo.), Rick Scott (R-Fla.), Tim Scott (R-S.C.), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio) and Todd Young (R-Ind.). The full text of the bill can be found here.