Hoeven, Heitkamp: Senate Passes Resolution Celebrating Fifth Consecutive NDSU Bison Football National Championship

WASHINGTON – Senators John Hoeven and Heidi Heitkamp today announced that the U.S. Senate has passed a resolution they introduced honoring the North Dakota State University (NDSU) Bison football team for winning its fifth consecutive NCAA Division I National Championship. The resolution congratulates the Bison football team and commends the NDSU players, coaches and staff for their hard work and dedication. It also recognizes the students, alumni and loyal fans that supported the Bison during their “Drive for Five” season.

“The Bison not only clinched a fifth consecutive national championship, but also a place in the history books. No other modern college football team has won five straight national championship titles. We congratulate NDSU – the players, coaches, staff and all of Bison Nation – on a tremendous season,” said Hoeven, who traveled to Frisco to cheer on NDSU with Bison Nation.

“The Bison football team has yet again made North Dakota proud. The teamwork of these players and coaches – and our fans’ unmatched support – has earned NDSU another well-deserved national championship,” said Heitkamp. “It’s our privilege to lead the Senate in recognizing this tremendous team.”

On January 9, the Bison defeated the Jacksonville State (Ala.) Gamecocks 37-10 to win a fifth straight national title in Frisco, Texas. The text of the resolution is available here.