Hoeven, Graham Introduce Resolution Condemning Biden Administration for Withholding Weapons to Israel

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Defense Appropriations Committee, this week joined Senator Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.) in introducing a Senate resolution condemning any action by the Biden administration to withhold ammunition or weapons for Israel. The resolution is cosponsored by a total of 48 senators.

“Israel must defeat Hamas in order to prevent another attack like what occurred on October 7,” said Senator Hoeven. “It makes no sense to hold back military aid, which was approved on a broad bipartisan basis in Congress, especially when it includes the kinds of systems that would allow for more targeted strikes that reduce the risk to civilians. Delaying assistance only draws out the conflict and gives Hamas the opportunity to regroup and recover. This resolution calls on the Biden administration to release the assistance to Israel and deliver it as soon as possible.”

“If President Biden continues with his decision to withhold or restrict ammunition and weapons to Israel, he and his administration will have destroyed the last, best chance to build on the Abraham Accords and bring peace to the Middle East for generations. Hamas, Hezbollah and Iran are dedicated to wiping the Jewish people and the State of Israel off the face of the Earth. What is the proper response for Israel, as they defend themselves from these lethal threats? They have to fight, and fight hard. The United States must never turn its back on Israel. I urge President Biden to change course immediately. The last thing we want to do is to reward terrorists – who violate international norms by weaponizing hospitals, mosques and schools – by blaming the victim of the terrorist attack, not the terrorists. If this policy holds, terrorists will get the message loud and clear that if they exploit civilians in this manner, terrorists will get a pass and their victims will be punished,” said Senator Graham.

Additional cosponsors include Senators John Barrasso (R-Wyoming), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tennessee), John Boozman (R-Arkansas), Mike Braun (R-Indiana), Shelley Moore Capito (R-West Virginia), Bill Cassidy (R-Louisiana), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Kevin Cramer (R-North Dakota), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Steve Daines (R-Montana), Deb Fischer (R-Nebraska), Chuck Grassley (R-Iowa), Bill Hagerty (R-Tennessee), Josh Hawley (R-Missouri), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Mississippi), Ron Johnson (R-Wisconsin), John Kennedy (R-Louisiana), James Lankford (R-Oklahoma), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyoming), Mitch McConnell (R-Kentucky), Jerry Moran (R-Kansas), Lisa Murkowski (R-Alaska), Pete Ricketts (R-Nebraska), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), Mike Rounds (R-South Dakota), Eric Schmitt (R-Missouri), Rick Scott (R-Florida), Tim Scott (R-South Carolina), Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Thom Tillis (R-North Carolina), Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama), J.D. Vance (R-Ohio), Roger Wicker (R-Mississippi), and Todd Young (R-Indiana).

Full text of the resolution can be found here.