Hoeven: FEMA Awards $7.4 Million to North Dakota to Implement State Security Strategy, Prepare for Emergencies and Protect Borders

Senator Announced Notice of Funding Opportunities in February

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, who serves as chairman of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) Appropriations Committee, today announced that North Dakota will receive a total of $7.4 million in Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) funding to help protect communities from catastrophic events, prepare for emergencies and secure the country’s borders. As chairman, Hoeven oversees funding for FEMA and the other agencies at DHS.

“Events in Fargo, Minot, Bismarck and elsewhere in our state underscore how important it is for our communities to be ready for potential emergencies,” said Hoeven. “These resources will help our state put in place the tools we need to prevent terrorism and other catastrophic events, respond to emergencies and secure our borders.”

The funds are awarded as follows:

• State Homeland Security Program (SHSP) – $3,734,500 – To support the implementation of state homeland security strategies to prevent, protect against and respond to acts of terrorism and other catastrophic events.
• Emergency Management Performance Grants (EMPG) – $3,113,693 – To allow local and state emergency management agencies to prepare for hazards in order to protect life and property.
• Operation Stonegarden Grant (OPSG) – $586,833 – To enhance cooperation and coordination among local, tribal, territorial, state and federal law enforcement agencies in a joint mission to secure the country’s borders. The OPSG grants have been awarded to the following counties:
o Bottineau County – $77,503
o Burke County – $75,910
o Cavalier County – $80,670
o Divide County – $74,910
o Pembina County – $80,670
o Renville County – $65,390
o Rolette County – $65,390
o Towner County – $65,390