Hoeven: FEMA Adds Five Counties, Spirit Lake Nation to Disaster Declaration

Devils Lake Region Now Covered in Declaration

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today said the addition of the Devils Lake Region and the Spirit Lake Tribe to the April 7 Federal Emergency Declaration issued by President Obama was welcome news, but that it’s important to expand the incident period, as well, to cover the costs of earlier response efforts. FEMA briefed Hoeven’s office this morning, saying the Preliminary Damage Assessments are completed and the final decision process is underway.  

“This is clearly a necessary and welcome decision for the residents of the Lake Region,” Hoeven said. “It now remains for the President to extend the incident period back from April 7 to February 14, when the state and communities began to incur expenses.” 

Once the full declaration is approved it will trigger federal cost share assistance for categories A-G, which covers the construction of roads, dikes and other flood protection measures as well as damages incurred to public infrastructure. 

Added to the declaration are Benson, Eddy, Nelson, Ramsey and Towner Counties, and the Spirit Lake Nation. The addition brings to 14 the number of North Dakota counties covered by the declaration. 

Hoeven has spoken with FEMA Director Craig Fugate, FEMA Region VIII Administrator Robin Finegan, and White House officials urging them to approve the full declaration requested by the state on February 25. He and his staff have been working closely with FEMA, the Army Corps of Engineers, and other federal agencies, as well as state and local officials to coordinate resources during this season’s statewide flood fight and recovery efforts. 

The emergency declaration now includes a total of 14 North Dakota counties and one reservation: Barnes, Benson, Cass, Eddy, Grand Forks, Nelson, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Towner, Traill, Walsh and Ward Counties and the Spirit Lake Nation.