Hoeven: Department of Education Awards Nearly $2.5 Million to North Dakota Universities

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, who serves on the U.S. Senate Appropriations Committee, today announced that the U.S. Department of Education has awarded a total of $2,490,090 to Cankdeska Cikana Community College, Dakota College at Bottineau, Dickinson State University, Lake Region State College, Minot State University, North Dakota State University, the University of Mary and the University of North Dakota.

This funding is part of the Department of Education’s TRIO Student Support Services (SSS) Program, which seeks to provide academic and general support services to low-income, first-generation or disabled college students in order to increase graduation rates, create a climate that will facilitate these students’ success and help them transfer from two-year to four-year colleges.

“Education is a key part of empowering our citizens to access better opportunities and build a better life for themselves and their children,” Hoeven said. “This funding will support the educational endeavors of low-income, first-generation and disabled students, which will allow them to gain the knowledge and tools they need to be successful.”

The funds are awarded as follows:

  • Cankdeska Cikana Community College – $281,511
  • Dakota College at Bottineau – $220,000
  • Dickinson State University – $260,369
  • Lake Region State College – $247,577
  • Minot State University– $439,999
  • North Dakota State University – $422,941
  • University of Mary – $281,510
  • University of North Dakota – $336,183