Hoeven, Cramer Join Daines to Introduce Bill to Authorize Keystone XL Pipeline

WASHINGTON — U.S. Senators John Hoeven and Kevin Cramer today joined Senator Steve Daines and several western senators in formally introducing the “Keystone XL Pipeline Construction and Jobs Preservation Act” to authorize the continued construction of the Keystone XL Pipeline following President Biden’s decision to revoke the cross-border operation permit. Congressman Kelly Armstrong introduced companion legislation in the House today.

“Our legislation ensures that the Keystone XL pipeline, which was already under construction, can continue. This important infrastructure project provides good jobs and economic growth, while also bolstering our energy security and helping reduce our reliance on Middle Eastern oil,” said Hoeven. “This legislation is part of our efforts to support our domestic energy industry and the jobs, economic growth and national security it provides.”

“Eliminating the Keystone XL Pipeline will raise emissions, energy costs, the risk of transportation accidents, and the number of Americans without a job. It is ironic President Biden, who bills himself as a unifying jobs creator, would start his presidency by going after an industry that provides opportunity and a better way of life for every American,” said Cramer. “Our legislation protects these jobs and the energy security they help provide.”

“Americans are already struggling to make ends meet and keep food on the table because of the pandemic. Yet with the stroke of a pen, President Biden killed thousands of energy and union jobs, eliminated tax revenue for impoverished communities, raised energy costs for Americans, and put our national security and energy independence at risk,” Daines stated. “We must reverse Biden's disastrous decision and send a clear message that supporting American workers is more important than supporting Saudi Arabia and allowing radical environmentalists to cash in on campaign promises.”

Senators Daines, Hoeven and Cramer were also joined on the legislation by Senators Mike Crapo (Idaho), James Risch (Idaho), John Barrasso (Wyo.), Cynthia Lummis (Wyo.), Roger Marshall (Kan.), Jerry Moran (Kan.), James Inhofe (Okla.), Tom Cotton (Ark.), Bill Cassidy (La.), Ted Cruz (Texas) and Dan Sullivan (Alaska).

This project is expected to provide approximately 11,000 direct high-paying jobs and up to 60,000 indirect and direct jobs, generate tax revenue, increase renewable-energy demand, reduce emissions and strengthen North American energy independence.