Hoeven, Cramer & Armstrong Honor NDSU Bison Football Team's Eighth FCS Championship

WASHINGTON – Senators John Hoeven and Kevin Cramer and Congressman Kelly Armstrong honored the North Dakota State University (NDSU) Bison football team this week for winning its eighth NCAA Division I FCS National Championship in nine years. 

Senators Hoeven and Cramer introduced a congratulatory resolution and delivered remarks on the floor of the U.S. Senate. Congressman Armstrong honored the team by introducing the resolution in the U.S. House of Representatives as well as delivering floor remarks. The resolution congratulates the Bison for defeating the James Madison University Dukes 28-20 on January 11 in Frisco, Texas.

“Earning an eighth FCS National Championship in nine years is a tremendous testament to the NDSU football program, further breaking their own record for most NCAA Division I FCS Championships,” said Hoeven. “We’re incredibly proud of the players, coaches and staff as well as all of Bison Nation for their continued support at home and on the road. This is a true honor for the entire State of North Dakota.” 

“Congratulations to this remarkable team on their remarkable accomplishment,” said Cramer. “We are proud of the Bison and proud of the entire university. They repeatedly demonstrate that excellence can be achieved not only on the gridiron, but in life.”

“The Bison have now won eight out of the last nine FCS Championship titles – an unprecedented achievement,” said Armstrong. “On Saturday, the Bison won a thrilling game against the JMU Dukes that came down to the final seconds. Congrats to the players, coaches, and staff on another championship season.”

The text of the resolution is available here.