Hoeven Cosponsors Senate-Passed Resolution Designating June 27 as National Post-Traumatic Stress Awareness Day

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today announced that the Senate has passed a bipartisan resolution he cosponsored and helped introduce designating June 27 as “National Post-Traumatic Stress Awareness Day” and the month of June as “National Post-Traumatic Stress Awareness Month.” Hoeven has cosponsored this resolution each year since coming to the Senate in 2011. 

“The hardship of combat and high-stress deployments can leave our servicemembers with injuries, both seen and unseen, as they return home,” said Hoeven. “We must continue to uphold our nation’s promise and take care of those who defend our freedoms. I support this resolution each year because it’s vital we recognize and promote awareness of post-traumatic stress and continue our efforts to eliminate the stigma associated with it. Our veterans deserve timely and appropriate treatment options and we continue our efforts to do just that within the VA, through local providers and by expanding access to alternative treatment options.”

In 2010, former Senator Kent Conrad led the Senate in designating the first National Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) Awareness Day. The resolution honored the legacy of North Dakota Army National Guard Staff Sgt. Joe Biel, who suffered from post-traumatic stress and, after returning home to North Dakota from his second tour of duty in Iraq, took his life in April 2007. Staff Sgt. Biel’s birthday, June 27, was chosen to mark “National Post-Traumatic Stress Awareness Day.” 

This year’s resolution was introduced by Senators Dan Sullivan (R-Alaska), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), and Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.). In addition to Hoeven, the legislation is cosponsored by Senators Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Maggie Hassan (D-N.H.), Jon Tester (D-Mont.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), Chris Van Hollen (D-Md.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Kelly Loeffler (R-Ga.), Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), Tina Smith (D-Minn.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Jack Reed (D-R.I.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), Jeanne Shaheen (D-N.H.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), James Lankford (R-Okla.), Pat Leahy (D-Vt.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Rob Portman (R-Ohio) and Ted Cruz (R-Texas).