Hoeven Cosponsors Legislation to Extend Tax Filing Deadline to July 15

Legislation Aligns Tax Filing Deadline with Treasury Department’s Extended Tax Payment Deadline

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today cosponsored the Tax Filing Relief for America Act, legislation to extend the tax filing deadline from April 15, 2020, to July 15, 2020 given the coronavirus outbreak. The U.S. Treasury Department previously announced that it would extend the tax payment deadline for filers who owe the IRS for the 2019 tax year. This legislation would align the tax filing deadline with the tax payment deadline, providing taxpayers with greater clarity. 

Additionally, it would allow taxpayers who need to travel to secondary locations to acquire tax documents or meet with an accountant to follow the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC’s) guidelines regarding the coronavirus outbreak. Taxpayers who are owed refunds would continue to be able to file their tax returns and receive their refunds.

“The Treasury Department has already extended the deadline for tax payments from April 15 to July 15. Our legislation would align the tax filing deadline and give taxpayers more time to submit their paperwork amid the Coronavirus outbreak,” said Hoeven. “Given the public health challenges facing our nation, this is common sense legislation that will help provide a little relief for American families.”

The legislation was introduced by Senators John Thune, Steve Daines and Angus King.