Hoeven Cosponsors Legislation to Allow Year-Round E15 Sales, Provide Certainty to Ethanol Producers

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven today cosponsored the Consumer and Fuel Retailer Choice Act of 2022, legislation introduced by Senators Deb Fischer (R-Neb.) and Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.) to allow the year-round sale of ethanol blends higher than 10 percent. The bill, which Hoeven previously helped introduce during the 115th Congress, would: 

  • Make permanent the Reid Vapor Pressure (RVP) waiver extension to allow year-round sale of E15.
  • Help prevent a patchwork of state-level regulations and provide certainty to ethanol producers in North Dakota and across the country.

“Our legislation helps provide certainty to farmers, gives travelers more options at the pump and strikes a balance that is supported by both traditional and biofuels producers. That’s a win for our economy and energy security,” said Hoeven.

Among others, the legislation is supported by the North Dakota Corn Growers Association, North Dakota Ethanol Producers Association, American Farm Bureau Federation and American Petroleum Institute. The full text of the bill can be read here.