Hoeven Congratulates Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute Award & Scholarship Recipients

FARGO, N.D. – At the Upper Great Plains Transportation Institute’s annual awards banquet this week, Senator John Hoeven recognized this year’s award winners for their contributions toward maintaining safe and reliable transportation systems in the state and their work to enhance economic opportunities for North Dakotans, including:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award – North Dakota Rep. Robin Weisz.
  • Chairman’s Award – North Dakota Rep. Jay Fisher.
  • Agrey Award – Former Executive Director of the North Dakota Association of Counties Terry Traynor.

The senator also congratulated the five North Dakota State University (NDSU) students who received scholarships, commending them on their academic success.

“Each of today’s award winners has dedicated themselves to improving the infrastructure that we rely on every day, protecting the well-being of North Dakotans as they go about their lives and work, while supporting a strong economy,” said Hoeven. “As we face the challenges of supply constraints, we are reminded of the importance of efforts like theirs. That’s why we continue working to prevent federal overreach and provide the regulatory relief that’s needed to build and repair our nation’s infrastructure more efficiently and at a lower cost to taxpayers.”

As a member of the Senate Transportation, Housing and Urban Development Appropriations Committee, Hoeven is working to push back on the Biden administration’s burdensome regulatory approach and advancing policies to prevent delays and reduce costs for infrastructure projects, including energy projects like pipelines and transmission lines. Doing so will help alleviate supply chain constraints, bring down energy prices and reduce inflation. To this end, Hoeven:

  • Recently helped introduce legislation, sponsored by Senator Shelley Moore Capito (R-W.Va.), to comprehensively reform federal permitting and project review. Importantly, the bill helps protect against federal overreach by codifying Trump-era policies like:
    • Modernizing and streamlining the National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) permitting process.
    • The Navigable Waters Protection Rule’s definition of “waters of the United States” under the Clean Water Act.
    • Rules to prevent states from unreasonably blocking energy projects and those designed to streamline permitting for critical energy projects.