Hoeven Congratulates Noonan on Being Named Teacher of the Year

BISMARCK, N.D. – Senator John Hoeven today congratulated Andrea Noonan on being named the 2013 North Dakota Teacher of the Year. Noonan teaches seventh and eighth grade English language arts at Cheney Middle School (CMS) in West Fargo and was previously named the 2012-2013 West Fargo School District Teacher of the Year.

“Exceptional teachers like Andrea Noonan are essential to preparing the next generation of leaders. Andrea has earned a reputation for working tirelessly to meet the needs of her students, and I offer my congratulations and thanks for her outstanding work,” said Hoeven.

The Teacher of the Year program seeks to recognize individuals who demonstrate excellence in teaching. Teachers, school administrators, school district trustees, local education associations, students and parents can submit nominations which are reviewed by an eight-member selection panel. The 2013 finalists included Linda Hope of Langdon High School, Phyliss Kadrmas of Devils Lake High School and Scott Johnson of Bismarck’s Century High School.

The North Dakota Department of Public Instruction and the Council of Chief State School Officers sponsor the North Dakota’s Teacher of the Year program.