Hoeven Celebrates Sweetwater Elementary's Education Achievements, Designation as National Blue Ribbon School

DEVILS LAKE, N.D. – At a ceremony today in Devils Lake, Senator John Hoeven congratulated the students, educators and families of Sweetwater Elementary School on their designation as a 2014 National Blue Ribbon School Award Winner. The senator presented the students with a U.S. flag flown over the Capitol in their honor to be displayed at the school along with their National Blue Ribbon School flag. National Blue Ribbon designees are presented with a special blue ribbon flag to fly as a symbol of exemplary teaching and learning.

“We are proud of the hard work of the entire Sweetwater Elementary community,” said Hoeven. “The National Blue Ribbon designation is a result of dedicated teachers and administrators, hardworking students and supportive parents and families. This honor is only awarded to the top schools in our nation and Sweetwater Elementary has set itself apart as one of the best.”

Sweetwater Elementary, along with Manvel Elementary, were the two North Dakota schools to be named a 2014 National Blue Ribbon School Awardee by the United States Department of Education. The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program was founded in 1982 to recognize the work of the nation’s top schools. Since the program’s founding, the blue ribbon distinction has been awarded to schools achieving impressive results through exemplary teaching practices. To date, more than 7,500 schools have received the designation.

The North Dakota schools were formally recognized by the Department of Education at a ceremony held in Washington, D.C. earlier this month.