Hoeven Announces USDA Funding to North Dakota Entities

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, chairman of the Senate Agriculture Appropriations Committee and a member of the Senate Agriculture Committee, today announced that the U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has awarded funding to three North Dakota entities. Details are as follows:

  • Avera Health – $985,399 from USDA’s Office of Rural Development to make upgrades to telemedicine software in the upper Midwest, benefiting the following North Dakota counties: Bowman, Cavalier, Divide, Grant, McIntosh, Mountrail, Nelson, Ramsey, Towner, Walsh, Ward, Wells and Williams. 
  • North Dakota State University (NDSU) – $185,342 from USDA’s National Institute of Food and Agriculture to support animal agriculture and biological science research for graduate and postdoctoral students.
  • Maddock Public Schools – $83,955 from USDA’s Office of Rural Development, made available through a Distance Learning and Telemedicine Grant, to invest in equipment to support distance learning for over 800 students. 

“These USDA grants will support efforts to advance educational opportunities and access to health care across North Dakota,” said Hoeven.