Hoeven Announces Student Support Grants to Five North Dakota Institutions

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, today announced that the U.S. Department of Education has awarded Student Support Services (SSS) funds to five colleges and universities in North Dakota. These grants will support the following list of schools in their efforts to assist low-income, first-generation or students with disabilities as they complete college requirements to obtain their degree and graduate. SSS funding may also be used to provide grant aid to those receiving Federal Pell Grant scholarships. Details are as follows: 

  • North Dakota State University – $503,470
  • University of North Dakota – $400,192 
  • University of Mary – $335,110
  • Lake Region State College – $294,716
  • Minot State University – $261,888 for SSS and $261,888 for Disabled Students

“These grants will support five North Dakota colleges and universities in their efforts to help first-generation, low-income and students with disabilities successfully complete their coursework and graduate,” said Hoeven.