Hoeven Announces Nearly $200,000 in Awards for Rural North Dakota Communities to Attract Investment, Create Jobs

WASHINGTON – Senator John Hoeven, a member of the Senate Appropriations Committee, today announced that the Economic Development Administration (EDA) has awarded two grants totaling $198,000 to the Lake Agassiz Regional Council, North Central Planning Council and the Souris Basin Planning Council. The investment awards will support the councils’ work to develop and implement a Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy to attract private capital investments and create job in the regions they serve.

Lake Agassiz Regional Council – $66,000 – The council serves Cass, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Steele and Traill counties.
North Central Planning Council – $66,000 – The council serves Benson, Cavalier, Eddy, Ramsey, Rolette and Towner counties as well as the Spirit Lake Nation and Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa.
Souris Basin Planning Council – $66,000 – The council serves Bottineau, Burke, McHenry, Mountrail, Pierce, Renville and Ward counties.

“Today’s investment awards will help rural areas in North Dakota create an economic development framework to help create jobs and attract investments to these communities,” Hoeven said.